Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now by The Smiths

April 1, 2007

   

 I used the title of this song as my tagline because it sums up the whole feel of my blog and I have intended for some time to have this played at my funeral. I figured it would be only right and proper that I shared the genius that was Morrissey and Marr with you. 

Morrisseys lyrics and voice get you thinking, add this to Marrs music that grabs hold of senses and won’t let go and you have quite a musical experience. The Smiths were that rare musical animal, they were unique. I first heard them in the early eighties and their whole back catalogue spends more time playing on my Ipod now than anything else, every song still sounds fresh. I was lucky enough to see them live once at the Lyceum in London and it is only now when I hear so many modern bands naming The Smiths as their musical inspiration that I realise how lucky I was.

I would heartliy recommend anyone to listen to as many Smiths songs as you can, they all have their own magic. For some light bedtime reading I would recommend Morrissey and Marr: The Severed Alliance by Johnny Rogan and The Smiths: Songs That Saved Your Life by Simon Goddard.

Enjoy the video, discover The Smiths if you haven’t already and think of me as my coffin is lowered into the ground.

2 Responses to “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now by The Smiths”

  1. Designate Says:

    The Smiths definitely stand in the test of time. You were truly lucky to have seen them live 🙂

  2. Matt Says:

    Nice video integration 😉


Leave a Reply

