Personal Space: How Much Do You Want To Know?

May 9, 2007

 

Surfing around the hundreds of thousands of blogs that are out there I am fascinated by how much some people are willing to share with complete strangers. I am very self concious that people know my name, sharing the fact that I am Dave Ross makes me feel slightly vulnerable. Now there are thousands of Dave Ross’s out there and I am just one of them there is no way anyone could find me or know who I am but you already know my name. I speak to people via comments etc. and they start to learn a litle bit more about you all the time peeling off another layer of your identity. Yes I am a little paranoid but also a little intrigued.

There are others out there who want to share everything and I admit I am drawn to this. We’re living in an age of celebrity where nothing is hidden, we know and have seen all we need to know of The Beckhams, Paris Hilton, Pamela Anderson and the like. Blogging allows ordinary people to self promote, to offer their lives for public consumption. Who they are, what they like, what they do, what they look like and where they are. Information is shared with anyone who happens to key in the right “tag” or phrase in Google. Voyeurs like me lap it up, I’m a man I love the football blogs, the music blogs, the ranters and the pious but show me a blog that tells me about someones real life and I’m hooked.

I’ll remain a miserable, anonymous old git and only expose my slightly old fashioned views and my name. The rest of you can keep me entertained with your daily life. This is reality TV without the ads, or the TV. Tell me more I’ll be be watching.

Leave a Reply

