The Internet: Why Do I Feel So Old!

August 14, 2007

OK, it’s like this I’m 42 years old, a father of 4 boys all growing up into young men. I should be their inspiration, guru if you like, the person they come to when life throws up a problem. I suppose in some aspects of life that’s how it is, but what do you do when their knowledge is so superior to yours that you become the student and they become the teacher? You give in and embrace it or at least that’s what I’ve done with technology, computers and the internet. My expertise stretches to Google, You Tube, E bay and of course WordPress, just as long as I take things slowly and don’t try and get too clever.

Now my 15 year old son is something else, he leaps from one thing to the next like a bee buzzing from flower to flower. He collects information and knowledge as the bee collects pollen. It is another world  in which I don’t think I’ll ever really be able to join him in. It’s a social centre, place of learning, of entertainment and creativity. Ah yes, the creativity. My boy creates movies using computer games, a capture card, his PC and his imagination. The WWE and all related video games provide his material and his imagination and knowledge do the rest. His total views on You Tube stand at over 100000. Please join the fun at  http://www.youtube.com/user/1upmiles 

Leave a Reply

