Del Amitri, Justin Currie, Jimmy Blue and Me.

October 1, 2007

 

I love popular music, always have and I guess I always will. I follow trends and times change but some bands stay with me. The Smiths, The Jam, Hendrix they all have a place but there is a unique place in my heart for one Scottish late 80’s and 90’s band Del Amitri. They are everything that I love about music, melodic, lyrically brilliant and a lead singer with a voice that I just never tire of hearing. My Ipod contains 1800 songs but the 100 or so Del Amitri songs are the ones I keep coming back to again and again.

Singer songwriter Justin Currie is about to embark on the next stage of his career with a new album and tour. Please check his Myspace and enjoy. I can’t wait, I have my ticket for the London leg and will be buying the album as soon as I can.

Anyway the point is I have written a script for a stage musical “Jimmy Blue” based on the song “Move Away Jimmy Blue” and using the music of Del Amitri. I say script but it is really just verbal glue that holds the songs together and displays them in a way that they weren’t intended but I think are perfect for. It is a simple story of youth, love, alcohol, hopes, dreams and the vagaries of life. Ultimately it’s about the music and the way the songs help to tell the story and link it all together.

Over the next couple of weeks I will post the script with the orignal songs and I think it works. If you like it leave a comment or tell a freind.

Please follow the link to Jimmy Blue: An Invitation to a Blog Musical

I will leave you with the title song to whet your appetite, enjoy and please give my script a chance, you will love it if just for the music.

Move Away Jimmy Blue

Leave a comment